Adoption Spotlight Social Image.png

Tell us the basics about yourself.

Hi, I'm Ollie! I'm 82 pounds of labradoodle lovin' and I'm about 2 years old. Doodle Dandy rescued me from a shelter in 2020 and I can't wait to meet my forever people.

How do you feel about your new life?

I couldn't be more grateful. I have been trying so hard over the past several months to learn how to look to my humans when I'm anxious. They have taught me that they will always have my back and that has allowed me to become a silly and playful boy. I have also learned the joys of booty scratches - when my friends scratch my rump I lean all of my weight into them to let them know how much I appreciate it because I know I will now have a new BFF!

How do you feel about other animals?

I am pretty nervous initially, when I'm in a new situation or around new people, but when I see another dog my fear pushes me over my threshold and gets the best of me. Going on walks is really a challenge because if I see another dog I pull that direction and I am as strong as the Hulk! I'm working on my Gentle Leader skills, but I'd rather just hang around the house and backyard where I know I'll be safe. I'm the type of dood that needs to be in a low-key home where I'm the only dog.

Are you (ummm...) potty trained?

Why yes, I am! I have never had an accident in the house. When I need to do my business I sit by the back door and paw it one time while politely waiting for my people to let me outside.

Do you shed?

I shed minimally, but will require routine grooming by a mobile groomer to keep me comfy and healthy!

How do you feel about the crate/kennel?

AHHH! NOOO!! Being confined in a crate or a room by myself is just way too scary! I really want someone to be a homebody with me. I don't need to go on walks, to the dog park, or puppy play dates. I just want to hang around the house and I want to spend that time with YOU! If you need to leave me at home alone, I'm a good boy and don't have accidents or chew things up if I'm left loose in the house.

What do you like to do for fun?

I don't need lots of exercise of activity, but I am very food motivated - so if you like teaching new tricks or playing games - count me in! Stuffed toys are my FAVORITE and I love to toss them in the air and catch them all by myself. I also love to play keep-away! My idea of a perfect day is spending quality time lounging around the house, hanging out in the backyard with my humans and my toys, and relaxing while my people watch TV (and tell me how handsome I am, adoringly).

How are your leash skills? Do you have any other tricks or commands?

I know how to follow verbal and visual commands such as sit, stay, down, dance, shake, and my FAVORITE - the double high five! I am very food motivated and so stinkin' smart. I love to learn new things and if you pull out a treat you will have my full attention!

 

What are the most important qualities for your most perfect fur-ever family match?

I take anxiety meds every day, but I still struggle with anxiety so I need my furever home to be with a low-key homebody that is patient, yet confident. My new mom or dad will need some experience with dogs and must commit to continue my training. It takes me a little bit to warm up to people, but I'm looking for someone that will always have my back so I know I am safe in their presence - no matter what!

 

What is the low down on adopting you?

My adoption fee is $600 plus sales tax. I'm HW negative, current on all HW/Flea preventatives, microchipped and altered. All my adoption fees go toward expenses like medical and food for Doodle Dandy Dogs and help make it possible for them to continue giving amazing pups like me a second chance. I am located in Austin.

If you would like to fill out an application, please click the Adoption Application button below.